Long Distance EV Routing

Hi,

Does anyone here use the Long Distance EV Routing
api and would like to share some experiences?

John

2 Likes

Hi @Digidodo, I have experience using the API (I’m a developer at TomTom). What questions do you have about the API?

Adam

1 Like

Hi @de9b32ce358d80a64313,

I’ve been trying to use the Long Distance EV API and have been getting weird results. It seems to me like the API can only return a single leg of a trip, when it should return many. For instance, a trip from Montréal, Québec to New York City should be easily do-able by EV (considering you stop to charge a few times) but the API with the default demo values returns a 400 error with a “No route found” error along with it.

On the other hand, if I try to do a short trip (Eg: Montréal, Québec to Brossard, Québec), I get a valid trip and the API seems to work properly. However, I always have a single leg in the legs array when I do these shorter requests (which makes sense).

I don’t know if it’s because the documentation is not clear enough or there is simply an API Bug but it seems pretty counter-intuitive that the Long Distance API can only plan short distances…

Here is the exact request I am sending (I increased the maximum):
https://api.tomtom.com/routing/1/calculateLongDistanceEVRoute/45.5088,-73.554:40.7648,-73.9808/json?vehicleEngineType=electric&currentChargeInkWh=20&maxChargeInkWh=40&minChargeAtDestinationInkWh=4&minChargeAtChargingStopsInkWh=4&traffic=false&constantSpeedConsumptionInkWhPerHundredkm=30,16.75:80,20.94&key=YOUR_API_KEY

I am sending it as a POST request with the body given in the documentation Demo. (https://developer.tomtom.com/routing-api/routing-api-documentation/long-distance-ev-routing)

Thanks for your help,

Pierre-Olivier